Avoncroft Museum of Historic Buildings
– Overview –
A unique example of a 19th century nailer’s cottage is being rescued and will become Avoncroft museum’s latest attraction.
The Heritage Lottery Fund has enabled the project to be carefully dismantled and reassembled at Avoncroft Museum, in Stoke Heath.
The humble two-up, two-down brick cottage with its single-storey nailer’s workshop has survived in Lickey End since the time Bromsgrove was the world capital for nailmaking – when the town produced a staggering four billion nails a year.
The records show the cottage remained in the same family between 1871- 2008, after which the building has stood empty. The cottage is largely unaltered, and has been described by experts as a remarkable find.
Each piece of this building has been documented and relocated to the museum site. The rebuild took approximately 18 weeks and now sits proud on the museum site.
Work enabling the fit out (phase 2) is currently on hold whilst the museum attempts to secure further funding.
The internal work will consist of lime plastering, traditional wallpaper, original timber work, internal doors and decoration.